New Milford Democrats Endorse Diverse Slate

July 23, 2019

Democrats have a lineup of candidates they believe will loosen Republican control of local elected offices in November. The Democratic Town Committee endorsed Thomas O’Brien to challenge The Democrats also tapped former mayors David Gronbach and Robert Gambino as candidates for the Board of Finance and Zoning Board of Appeals. Gronbach was mayor of New Milford from 2015 to 2017, and Gambino from 2001 to 2003.

“The New Milford Democratic Town Committee is proud to put forth the most highly experienced, well-educated and diverse slate of candidates,” Democratic Town Committee Chair Mary Jane Lundgren said in a statement Thursday.

“In addition to the two past mayors on our slate, we have 12 women, 10 candidates with master’s level education or higher, three doctors, a lawyer, IT pros, corporate finance executives, corporate advertising/branding experts, a scientist, a nurse and tradespeople,” she said.

Lundgren said the Democratic slate includes candidates of color and from the LGTBQ community.

“I feel confident that our slate of candidates provides all New Milford residents with the most qualified people, regardless of party, to improve their quality of life,” said Lundgren, who is one of nine Democratic candidates endorsed for Town Council.

The other Democratic Town Council candidates are Gale Alexander, Walter Bayer, Jackie Eaton, David Lawson, Peter Mullen, Hilary Ram, Michelle Shackelford and Jeffrey Winter.

The Democratic candidates for Board of Finance — in addition to Gronbach — are Adrienne Aurichio, Korey Linder and Barbara Wolf.

For the Board of Education, the Democrats endorsed Brian McCauley, Tammy McInerney, Roseann Petruso, Michele Stawasz and Marilyn Lipscomb.